Louisiana State Police responded to a motorcycle crash that claimed a life. The victim was identified as 53-year-old Edward McMillian …
Recent Livonia, MI Accident News
Motor vehicle crashes in Michigan are a significant issue, with thousands of accidents occurring each year and increasing with time. Data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration indicates that there were 1,064 traffic fatalities in Michigan in 2020, up from 974 in 2019. This represents a 9.2% increase in the number of fatalities.
Some of the leading causes of car crashes in Michigan include speeding, distracted driving, and driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. In fact, impaired driving was a factor in more than 30% of fatal crashes in Michigan in 2019.
On Monday night, a police pursuit with a murder suspect ended in a fiery crash on I-275. The chase started …
A 25-year-old Westland woman lost her life following a rollover accident in Livonia.
As per the initial information, the fatal …
On Wednesday, one person died after a single-vehicle accident on westbound I-96 service drive in Livonia.
As per the initial …
Reporting on 250+ Cities in Michigan.
Michigan Accident FAQ
Yes, Michigan is a no-fault state. This means that in most cases, you will file a claim with your own insurance company to cover the cost of your medical bills and lost wages. However, if your injuries are serious or permanent, you may be able to file a lawsuit against the other driver to recover additional damages.
Some of the leading causes of car accidents in Michigan include driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, distracted driving, speeding, and failure to yield the right of way.
Reports indicate that the most number of crashes and accidents take place in Detroit, Michigan.
Car accidents can occur at any time of year, but they tend to be more common during the winter months when roads are often icy and snow-covered.
Driving without insurance is considered a misdemeanor in Michigan. If convicted, an individual may have to pay a fine of up to $500, face up to one year in jail and surrender their driver’s license for 30 days or until they have coverage, whichever is later. Further, the individual may also have to pay a service fee of at least $125 to reinstate their license.
If you are involved in a car accident in Michigan, you should call the police, exchange contact and insurance information with the other driver(s), and seek medical attention if necessary. It is also important to report the accident to your insurance company as soon as possible.
In Michigan, to get a police report for a car accident you were involved in, you can request a copy of the UD-10 Traffic Crash Report from the state police or the local department that investigated the crash. You will need the date of the crash, your birthday, driver license number and possibly the incident number.