fbpx

Recent Washington Accident News

In 2021, the Washington Department of Transportation (WSDOT) revealed that there we’re 82,152 car accidents. From those accidents, 11,315 were teen-drivers, 4,711 drunk-driving related and 575 fatalities occurred.

Articles that exceed 5 days from the original post date are automatically removed. Recent news will appear as it is posted.

Washington Accident FAQ

According to the Office of the Insurance Commissioner of Washington State, the minimum auto liability insurance is $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person, $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons, and. $10,000 for property damage in any one accident (“25/50/10”).

Washington is a fault or a tort state. This means that the driver who was the cause of the accident will be responsible for compensating the other parties involved in the accident. 

Washington is also a comparative fault state. This means that both drivers can be faulted for an accident. 

No, it is illegal to perform lane splitting in the State of Washington. Under Washington State Legislature section RCW 46.61. 608, no person shall operate a motorcycle between lanes of traffic or between adjacent lines or rows of vehicles.

They would be personally liable for any damages that occurred from the auto, motorcycle or truck accident.

If you or any passenger is injured and requires medical assistance or the accident resulted in the death of an individual, it is highly recommended to involve an attorney licensed in Washington.

According to collision reports from official records, distracted driving has been cited as the cause of around 30% of the accidents in Washington. Other causes include driving under the influence, speed, as well as reckless driving.

To access an accident report in Washington, you can visit the official website of the Washington State Patrol, where all the reports are available. Simply submit a request for the specific collision you are interested in, and you can expect to receive the report within 2-4 weeks. 

It’s important to note that if you are not an entitled party, you will receive a redacted version of the report. Conversely, if you are an entitled party, you will receive the non-redacted version.

Further to this, you could also request an accident report through Nationwide Report, and find out how much your accident claim is worth too.

Based on recent data, Seattle and Tacoma have been identified as the cities in Washington with the highest number of vehicle accidents.

In Washington, it is mandatory to have car insurance coverage, which includes liability limits set by the state. The minimum required limits for bodily injury coverage are as follows:

  • Up to $25,000 for bodily injury per person
  • Up to $10,000 for property damage per accident
  • Up to $50,000 for total bodily injury per accident.

In Washington, it is mandatory for all drivers to have insurance coverage before operating a vehicle. Whether you’re a resident or a visitor planning to drive in the state, meeting the insurance requirements is essential to ensure legal compliance and financial protection. The law goes on to mandate that drivers obtain liability insurance with a minimum coverage limit, as specified in the previous answer.

The Washington State Laws require you to provide a mandatory accident report even if the accident is a minor one. As long as there is $1000 or more damage incurred in at least one of the units, the accident has to be reported to the authorities. Those involved have a four-day time limit before the accident is to be reported. 

The Washington State Department of Transportation has released statistics regarding the number of accidents that occurred within the past year. The figure stands at a significant 78,544, which is lower than the previous year’s total but still a substantial amount.