Washington Car Insurance Limits
Washington State drivers must do one of the following:
A) Obtain Auto Insurance with the following minimums;
- $25,000 – Bodily injury or death of one person in an accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle.
- $50,000 – Total bodily injury or death liability per occurrence in an accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle.
- $10,000 – Property damage per accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle.
B) Certificate of Deposit:
- Applying for a Certificate of Deposit, you’re assuring financial responsibility for an accident, obtained with the Washington State Department of Licensing.
C) Liability Bond
- A minimum liability bond of $60,000 must be obtained and be filed by a surety bond company authorized to do business within the state of Washington.
Washington is an ‘At-Fault’ State
At-Fault simply means the driver who caused the accident is responsible for the damages to other parties involved. In the event of an accident, insurance will pay to repair vehicle damages or cover medical expenses if there are injuries, up to the policy limits.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
PIP is an optional insurance coverage you can add to your auto policy. After an accident and up to certain limits, PIP helps pay for:
- Funeral Expenses – includes up to $2,000 for each person who died due to the accident.
- Loss of Wages – up to $200 per week ($10,000 total) for replacement income coverage. This is limited to one (1) year after someone’s been disabled for 14 consecutive days after an accident. Additional coverage can be added.
- Loss of Services – up to $200 per week ($5,000 total) to pay non-family members for work you can’t do. Additional coverage can be added.
- Hospital and Medical Expenses – up to $10,000 for reasonable and necessary medical and hospital expenses for each person injured in an auto accident is covered with PIP. This is available for up to three years from the date of the accident. Additional coverage may be added.
To learn more about Personal Injury Protection, please visit the Office of the Insurance Commissioner Washington State.
What To Do After A Car Accident in Washington
- After stopping your vehicle, pull up as close to the accident as safely possible, without obstructing traffic. Assess the situation, do not panic and be aware of the traffic situation, and any other dangers, such as fire.
- Do your best to provide assistance to other motorists, passengers or pedestrians that may have been injured in the accident. Take extra care when attempting to move an injured person; if possible, wait for an ambulance to arrive. Contact 911 to report any injuries and call for medical assistance.
- If you have been injured in the accident, it’s important to stay calm. Ensure that you’re out of danger and not blocking any oncoming traffic. Call or wait for help, and do not attempt to move if you are unable to do so.
- If you are involved in an accident in Washington, you’re required to provide certain information to the other parties involved:
- Name, Address and Contact Details
- Driver License Number
- License Plate Number of the Vehicles Involved
- Auto Insurance Information for the Motorists Involved
- Washington Department of Motor Vehicles also mentions that if law enforcement investigates your accident, you’re not required to file a collision report. Otherwise, you must file a report within four (4) days of the accident. You can obtain a blank accident report from your local police department, sheriff’s office, or the Washington State Patrol.
- If you hit an unattended vehicle, you must make an effort to find the owner or driver, and follow these same procedures. If you are unable to locate the owner of the unattended vehicle, you are required to leave a note indicating your name and contact information, and a brief description of the accident.
Washington Personal Injury Attorneys and Insurance Claim Questions
If you’re interested in speaking with someone regarding your accident or an insurance, Nationwide Report has partnered with Valiant Advocates; a multi-state attorney matching service who will help connect you with an experienced attorney in your local area. Valiant Advocates also connects you with 12 different Legal Areas which include the following:
- Motor Vehicle Accident Claims such as Car Accidents, Truck/Big Rig Accidents and Motorcycle Accidents
- Personal Injury Claims including Bicycle Accidents, Slip and Fall or Brain and Spine Injury
- Wrongful Death Claims such as Fatal Car Accidents, Catastrophic Injury and Negligence
If you have any questions regarding the benefits or your interested in connecting with an attorney in your local area, contact Valiant Advocates at (800) 910-6668 or complete their easy-to-fill form to be connected with a top-ranked Washington attorney.