Texas Car Insurance Limits
- $30,000 – Bodily injury or death of one person in an accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle.
- $60,000 – Total bodily injury or death liability per occurrence in an accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle.
- $25,000 – Property damage per accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle.
Texas Statue of Limitations
- Two (2) Years for Damage to Personal Property
- Two (2) Years for Personal Injury
- Six (6) Months to file a formal claim for Lawsuits against The State of Texas
Texas is a Modified Comparative ‘At-Fault’ State
Modified Comparative Fault means that your damage award could be reduced if you’re found partially at fault for the injury.
If you’re injured, you cannot recover damages from the other party if you’re 51% or more at-fault for the accident.
Modified Joint and Several Liability Rule
Modified Joint and Several Liability Rule Modified means if a defendant’s damages are 50% or less of the total liability, the defendant is only responsible for his percentage of responsibility. To learn more about this, please visit the Texas Constitution and Statues; Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 33.013.
Optional Medical Coverages in Texas
A) Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
PIP is an optional insurance coverage you can add to your auto policy. After an accident and up to certain limits, PIP helps pay for:
- Funeral Expenses
- Loss of Wages
- Loss of Services
- Hospital and Medical Expenses
To learn more about Personal Injury Protection, please visit the Office of Public Insurance Counsel.
B) Medical Payments (Med Pay)
MedPay or Med-Pay is another optional insurance coverage you can add to your auto policy. After an accident and up to certain limits, MedPay helps pay for some:
- Medical Treatment
- Funeral Expenses
- EMT/Ambulance Fees
- Hospital Expenditures such as X-rays
- Aftercare Bills
To learn more about MedPay Coverage, please visit the Texas Office of Public Insurance Counsel.
What To Do After A Car Accident in Texas
- After stopping your vehicle, pull up as close to the accident as safely possible, without obstructing traffic. Assess the situation, do not panic and be aware of the traffic situation, and any other dangers, such as fire.
- Do your best to provide assistance to other motorists, passengers or pedestrians that may have been injured in the accident. Take extra care when attempting to move an injured person; if possible, wait for an ambulance to arrive. Contact 911 to report any injuries and call for medical assistance.
- If you have been injured in the accident, it’s important to stay calm. Ensure that you’re out of danger and not blocking any oncoming traffic. Call or wait for help, and do not attempt to move if you are unable to do so.
- If you are involved in an accident in Texas, you’re required to provide certain information to the other parties involved:
- Name, Address and Contact Details
- Driver License Number
- License Plate Number of the Vehicles Involved
- Auto Insurance Information for the Motorists Involved
- Texas Department of Motor Vehicles mentions that a Crash Report (Form CR-3) or “Blue Form” must be filed with the TX DOT within 10 days if:
- You were involved in an accident where a law enforcement officer did investigate which resulted in death, injury or more than $1,000 in property damage.
Texas Personal Injury Attorneys and Insurance Claim Questions
If you’re interested in speaking with someone regarding your accident or an insurance, Nationwide Report has partnered with Valiant Advocates; a multi-state attorney matching service who will help connect you with an experienced attorney in your local area. Valiant Advocates also connects you with 12 different Legal Areas which include the following:
- Motor Vehicle Accident Claims such as Car Accidents, Truck/Big Rig Accidents and Motorcycle Accidents
- Personal Injury Claims including Bicycle Accidents, Slip and Fall or Brain and Spine Injury
- Wrongful Death Claims such as Fatal Car Accidents, Catastrophic Injury and Negligence
If you have any questions regarding the benefits or your interested in connecting with an attorney in your local area, contact Valiant Advocates at (800) 910-6668 or complete their easy-to-fill form to be connected with a top-ranked Texas attorney.